XVIIIth Congress of the European Shock Society and IXth Congress of the Int'l Federation of Shock Societies

ESS Travel Awards

To facilitate high participation of young/new scientists either of European origin and/or working in the European institutions, a total of 10 ESS travel grants of EUR 500 each will be provided by the European Shock Society (ESS) to junior* investigators based on scientific merit of the submitted abstract and/or need for financial assistance(e.g. applicants from under-developed countries; the host institution unable to support participation, etc.). 

*ESS definition of the “junior investigator status”:

Every person, irrespective of age, with a maximum of 5 years of post-doc experience (or equivalent e.g. intern/resident etc.) qualifies as a junior scientist. You do not qualify if you currently hold any type of a Professorship appointment (e.g. Assistant Prof., Associate Prof., University Prof. etc.). Applications received after the deadline will not be considered. 

In order to be considered for an ESS Travel Award, applicants must simply proceed as follows: 

  1. Regular submission of the abstract (via the Aegean Abstract Submission portal)
  2. The applicant must be the first author on the submitted abstract
  3. The applicant must send before the deadline (June 15th 2019): 
    a brief email (including the abstract title) to info@aegeanconferences.org stating that she/he applies for the ESS Travel Award
  4. A brief letter from the mentor confirming the participant's junior status and/or financial need must be attached (pdf file)


ESS Travel Award certificates will be awarded at the gala dinner on Friday, October 11, 2019.